Wednesday, April 2, 2014

Third Degree - Review


A New Adult Contemporary Romance

By Julie Cross

Release is March 25, 2014

Published by Flirt (Imprint of Random House)

Fans of Monica Murphy and Tammara Webber will savor this New Adult novel—a story about coming of age in the heat of the moment—from Julie Cross, the internationally bestselling author of the Tempest trilogy.

I used to be “Isabel Jenkins, child prodigy.” As lame as that sounds, at least it was an identity. But now I’m not sure what I am. I just failed the most important exam of my life—the emotional readiness test required to get into a medical residency program—and it turns out my parents can’t stand each other. Now I’m trying to figure out how to pick up the pieces of my life, and that means re-enrolling as a college freshman, but this time I’m shutting the books and majoring in being eighteen.
But so far, my roommate hates me and I’m not into the party scene. The only good thing about school has been getting to know my insanely hot RA. Marshall Collins makes me wonder about everything I missed while I was growing up too fast. Pretty soon we’re hanging out constantly, but for the first time, I find myself wanting more than a no-strings-attached physical relationship. And the lesson I really need is one Marsh definitely can’t teach me: love. Because I’m going to be alone forever if I don’t learn fast.

Advance praise for Third Degree
“With quirky characters, laugh-out-loud moments, and a touching romance, Third Degree is a refreshing entry in the New Adult genre. I can’t wait to read what Julie Cross comes up with next!”—Roni Loren, bestselling author of Need You Tonight

“I fell for quirky, brainy, socially awkward child prodigy Izzy and even more so for her sweet, compassionate, and hot RA, Marshall. I was rooting for their happily-ever-after and was sighing with satisfaction by the end.”—Christina Lee, author of the Between Breaths series

“Loved! Fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick’s My Life Next Door and Tammara Webber’s Easy will fall hard for this book.”—Krista Ritchie, co-author of the Addicted to You series

About the Author

Julie Cross lives in Central Illinois with her husband and three children. She’s a former gymnast, longtime gymnastics fan, coach, and former gymnastics program director with the YMCA. She’s a lover of books, devouring several novels a week, especially in the young adult and New Adult genres. She’s also a committed (but not talented) long-distance runner, creator of imaginary beach vacations, Midwest bipolar weather survivor, expired CPR certification card holder, as well as a ponytail and gym shoe addict.

My Review

5 star read!

This story is about learning to overcome physical illnesses, your own personal struggles and be the best person and reach goals that you never thought you wanted to begin with.

Isabel, aka Izzy, has always wanted to be a surgeon but is unable to pass her emotional readiness exam. This lands her taking classes in college and totally out of her comfort zone. She meets Marshall Collins, her RA, first once arriving and there is something special about him but she just brushes it off because Izzy isn’t into boys or looks or anything else.

I would have to describe Izzy as socially awkward. She doesn’t know how to have a friendship or any type of relationship with anyone and it starts to blow up in her face. Her professors dislike her, her classmates dislike her, and even her roommate dislikes her. She keeps doing some really crazy things that would probably make me wonder about her too! She eventually and slowly builds some type of relationship with Marshall that I don’t even know how to describe at first but eventually it turns into a friendship. She opens up to him and explains a little about her past so he knows about her history working in the hospital.

I love the build up between Izzy and Marshall! The little touches, looks and the way they try and help each other. I laughed while she was trying to help him study and they were talking about eating a taco and he just kept talking in circles. I loved it when his sisters and he came up with the list for her to have college experiences and so on. They just had such a wonderful natural flow between them that made you fall for both of them. There was always that awkward thing that Izzy would say or do though and Marshall would know how to respond or wouldn’t let it faze him.

Izzy isn’t the only one with a past though… what happens when Marshall’s secrets come out?? Plus, school is only supposed to be temporary for Izzy… what happens when it is time for her to return for retesting of the emotional readiness exam??

This book is definitely a must read and will keep you interested from beginning to end! I fell in love with it and couldn’t put it down! One of those that will be on my favorites for 2014 and Marshall is now a 2014 book boyfriend!

No comments:

Post a Comment